Summary (3-5-07)

          This weblog displays all of the major assignments that I have completed through out the year. It also contains a written descriptions on what the assignment it about, and how I completed. The link for all the assignments is at the bottom of each description. Like many other of my assignment I waited last minute to complete my weblog portfolio. I started it on Monday the 2, and finished it on Wednesday 5. It didn’t take me long to figure out that it was not a hard assignment but it did take up a lot of time. It would have been really smart to have worked on this through out the year. I know that if would of taken more time on this it would be better; but I am happy with how it turned out.             

          I came into this class thinking that I was going to be easy. It didn’t take long for me to figure out that I was wrong. After receiving a poor grade on the Resume and Job Letter assignment I realized that I was going to have to allow more time, and put out more effort if I was going to be successful in this class.            

          The first half of this semester I was struggling in this class. I was just going through the motions, doing what I had to do to complete the assignment. After receiving many poor grades I realized that I needed to step it up and start working hard. The Formal Memo assignment was the first big assignment. I knew that I needed to make to good grade on this paper. At this point in the semester I had no confidence in my writing. After getting an A on the Formal Memo, I told my self that I can do it; it just takes a little time and effort.            

          This class was a very good learning experience for me. I learned something different from every assignment; and I was able to use what I learned on the papers down the semester. The thing that I struggled with the most through out the year was editing. I was never good at catching my own mistakes, and I would hurt me on a lot of assignments this semester. I finally realized that I need some out side help, somebody to look over my paper to catch the mistakes that I miss. So around mid semester I began getting my sister to help edit my papers. She was very willing and helpful. My editing skill are still what I struggle with to this day; but I have come along way from the first assignment and I know I can only get better if I keep trying.            

          The best thing I liked about this class was the specific descriptions for each assignment, and the free time at the end of class to work and ask questions. The greatest think I probably learned was how to be successful with group work. Going into the assignment I was worried because of my experiences with groups in the past. I was put in a outstanding group; three other hard works that would settle for anything but an A. This was exactly what I needed; a group of people to help push me to do well. I really enjoyed this assignment because of what I learned and the people I meet and worked with.            

          Knowing what I know now I would love to go back to the beginning of the semester and redo many assignments because I know I could have done better if I would have just applied a little more effort. Specifically I would like to resubmit the Resume and Job Letter assignment. I receive a failing grade, and the reason was because I did not set aside enough time for research or to write the paper. Looking back over it I realized that I was a very poor written assignment, which I am embarrassed for. I know for a fact that if I could resubmit it now it would be a completely different out come.            

          I am going to be able and take away so much from this class and use it in the future. I am confident that if ever needed to write a memo in the future I will be able to do so. More specifically, I will be more confident in group assignments, and if there is no one who wants to step up and be the leader I will be able to fill that role. My editing skills are another thing that has gradually been getting better. I still have a lot of work to do before being very confident; but I have come along way since the beginning of the year. This class has given me many skill that I can take and use in future; but most importantly is has given me confidence that I can become a good writer.  

Leave a Reply

